This topic is 6279 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

im new to filemaker.

i can create the data bases i require ok but need a bit of push in right direction to accomplish the following:

customer enters his data in his own data base(contains data regarding deliveries required etc )which only he can see and alter ,this is then to be transferred to a main d/b which is to be availble for all to see but in no way alter the data,

i know this may be complex but some pointing in right direction would be appreciated

thank you

kwlkshift - I'm also a newbie with FM, but I think I can help. If I understand you correctly you want to have one view where the user could enter their data, then another where the data would be displayed but not edited? Is this correct? If so, how is this database being run? Meaning: are there going to be multiple users?

I think what your looking for is two tables and one using a portal to show information from the first table, but limiting the edit options in the second view.

Again, I'm a newbie so this may be wrong. Can you let me know if this is what you're looking to do?

Also, can you post what you have for this currently?

It sounds like what you need is what is known as "record-level access restrictions." Which is set in the Accounts & Privileges, in the Records: area. First choose: Custom Privileges, which pops up a whole window of more options. One of the drop-downs is for Edit (of each table). You would set it to a calculation:

CreatedBy = Get ( AccountName )

In the above case "CreatedBy" is a text field, with the auto-enter Option, Creation: Account Name

Get (AccountName) is the name of the currently logged in Account. You have to have an Account for each of the customers. The creation of the account can be scripted.