Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Transforming FM's xml output to a different format

Thirdwaver

This topic is 6087 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

This need I have seems so common that I can't believe that a two day combing of the Internet has turned up dry. My need is fairly simple. I'm making a charting application in Flex that is using FMPro as a datasource. I retrieve the data I need via URL. Filemaker is returning results like this:

02/01/2007

02/01/2007

321A

{...repeats record tag over and over...}

But what I want is this:

02/01/2007

02/01/2007

321A

I'm fairly certain this is accomplished with XSL, but I'm no XSL programmer. Does someone have a cookie cutter XSL document that does this? Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance for any guidance

Sean

Unfortunately, there's no such thing as a a cookie cutter XSL document - a stylesheet has to be tailor-made. Now the question is, how much of that Filemaker mumbo-jumbo do you really need for your charting app? It's easier to work with the minimum requirements, instead of minimum changes.

For example, if you could do with the result of:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

02/01/2007

02/01/2007

321A

your stylesheet could be as simple as:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>

xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform">

The minimal requirements are fine as is the sample you provided. The code you provided did not work, however. Was I supposed to substitute anything in your code with some specifics from my solution? The output you showed is exactly what I want but when I tried to export or use it via the web, all I get returned is:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

Thanks again for your help! I'm all thumbs when it comes to XSL and I feel like I'm actually getting close to overcoming this roadblock with your help.

Sean