Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Move data from column to row

This topic is 6112 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Newbie here. I have been given several tab separated text files that I have imported into FM.

The records are set up with each person being repeated 4 times but some of the fields have different data. I need to get this data all in one row.

Current look:

Joe Smith address1 code1 validation1

Joe Smith address1 code2 validation2

Joe Smith address1 code3 validation3

Joe Smith address1 code4 validation4

What I need:

Joe Smith address1 code1 validation1 code2 validation2 code3 validation3 code4 validation4

Hope this is clear enough.

Thanks

Dave

This tool is not a spreadsheet, so what might pass as conveninet layout doesn't nessersarily have to be the proper way of dealing with it.

The data needs to go to two tables, at least - not just one as you wish, because both address1 and the name occures 4 times as combo. This means two imports, one to each table.

Having fields named code1 code2 etc. is giving yourself away, since this is denormalization, the pairs code_x and validation_x should go as pairs to a related record, which by means of a cut up portal might be shown the way you wish them to be.

This means that the tab separated file need to be imported to a table, in which the data is sorted in name and address1. In an extra field do you then need to "stripe" via a scripted replace this calc'

Div ( Get ( RecordNumber ) ; 4 )+1

This fields value needs to be keyvalues in both the present table as well as the one you internally transfere detail records to, primary and foreign respectively.

A way to appcomplish this almost effordless is something in the vicinity of:

Import Records [  ] 

Sort Records [ Specified Sort Order: Gather::Name; ascending Gather::Address1; ascending ] [ Restore ] 

Replace Field Contents [ Gather::Stripe; Replace with calculation: Div ( Get ( RecordNumber ) ; 4 )+1 ]