Claris Engage 2025 - March 25-26 Austin Texas ×

Checkbox- visibility of another field?

SLYCV

This topic is 6231 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi, I have been using a couple of FileMaker databases for many years but I've just started to learn developing my own. They were always flat-file db's before. I have several relational db's that I'll be working on, eventually.

But right now I have a fairly simple, one-table, db I am trying to get set up. I need to have a couple of fields with a single checkbox in them. When they are checked, then another field or fields would ungray and allow for entry. If they are not checked the additional fields would stay grayed-out. Does this make any sense?

Ex.: "Deceased" - if checked, then "Date" ungrays.

"Registered" - if checked, "Number" ungrays.

Then I also would need the opposite:

"U.S." - if checked, then 3 other fields don't allow entry. If not checked, then the Non-US fields allow entry.

With this one I was thinking I might be better having a yes and no option. Yes- grayed out, No- allow for entry in the other fields.

I have a data-entry layout basically designed. But the end-user would like these checkboxes - they believe it will make it simpler for the data entry person.

I've also got another question for which I've been searching the help files and manuals and they've been less than helpful. Can I have an "Email" field where an email is entered and it allows a user to click on the field/link and send an email to that address via their email program. I tried to look up hyperlinks with FM help and got no where.

Anyway, sorry this is so long, and for more than 1 question! Thanks for any help you can give me. Going to dinner, but I'll check back later tonight and then tomorrow. I really appreciate all the great info on this forum.

SLYCV :))