Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Slower Learning Curves

Larsal

This topic is 6106 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I, too got thrown into this role as an In-House Developer about 2 years ago. My question is this: What do you do when you the demands of your clients outweigh the time you have to learn new tools? I work in a school district and it seems the requests I receive come in daily: Add a button here, a report there, a page here, etc. We have 12 schools, 10,000 students and 300 staff who all access Filemaker for their grades, report cards, local assessments, you name it!! It's an awesome tool, but I feel like I can't get my brain around it because I wansn't the one who built it from the ground up. We still have the original developer, but I really don't like relying on him for every major thing. Any suggestions? BTW, I'm glad to know there are others in the same situation. :( :(

He makes all the major structural changes, however, I am being relied upon to make other changes and additions as stated in my last post. It's all about the bottom line. It's more cost effective to have me learn and develop in-house than to constantly try to hunt down someone who lives in another state and is hard to reach at times.

My question is this: What do you do when you the demands of your clients outweigh the time you have to learn new tools?

Greetings Sophia,

I think your situation points to at least two of the challenges of in-house developers:

1. How to get on-going training.

2. How to get the organization to give you time to do periodic planned revisions of databases (rather than just the fixes and adjustments that happen on a daily basis).