Anatoli Posted October 21, 2001 Posted October 21, 2001 It depends on your concept and HW and SW setup.
Newbies jcorban Posted October 22, 2001 Newbies Posted October 22, 2001 I know what you mean. I just started doing CDML and I ran into the same problem. The problem is, Filemaker (just like any database) needs to know which records you'd like to browse. Fortunately you can just build the query into your URL, so the user doesn't have to know they're doing a search. The URL looks something like this (to find all records): http://localhost/FMPro?-db=mydatabase.fp5&-format=browse.html&-FindAll And here's a simple browse.html that will work with this URL: <HTML> <BODY> <H2>Browse Records</H2> <P>Showing [FMP-rangesize] of [FMP-currentfoundcount] requests. <table> <tr> <td>First Name</td> <td>Last Name</td> </tr> [FMP-record] <tr> <td>[FMP-field: first_name]</td> <td>[FMP-field: last_name]</td> </tr> [/FMP-record] </table> </BODY> </HTML>
billiam02 Posted October 22, 2001 Posted October 22, 2001 Ok... Got Filemaker Pro Unlimited v5... Was looking for a way to post information from records onto a page. I know there is a way to do it using CDML, but have only seen examples and tutorials on home to post information after doing a search command. Was wondering/Asking for help with the CDML coding that would be needed to do this. Thanks for any help, because I'm really confused
billiam02 Posted October 22, 2001 Posted October 22, 2001 ok... have tried many different things. here is what I'm putting in the HTML to bring the record info to the page without the search... form action="http://www.basd.k12.pa.us:519/FMPro" method="get"> input type="hidden" name="-db" value="dates.fp5"> input type="hidden" name="-lay" value="datefinal.html"> input type="hidden" name="-Max" value="6"> input type="hidden" name="-Script" value="Date Filer"> input type="hidden" name="-SortField" value="Event_Date"> input type="hidden" name="-SortOrder" value="descending"> input type="hidden" name="-FindAny"> [FMP-Record] font size=-2><B>[FMP-Field: Event_Date]</B> [Event_Name]</font><br> font size=-2><B>[FMP-Field: Event_Date]</B> [Event_Name]</font><br> I'm sure that there is something really wrong... but I can't figure it out. Please help!
billiam02 Posted October 22, 2001 Posted October 22, 2001 ok... have tried many different things. here is what I'm putting in the HTML to bring the record info to the page without the search... form action="http://www.basd.k12.pa.us:519/FMPro" method="get"> input type="hidden" name="-db" value="dates.fp5"> input type="hidden" name="-lay" value="datefinal.html"> input type="hidden" name="-Max" value="6"> input type="hidden" name="-Script" value="Date Filer"> input type="hidden" name="-SortField" value="Event_Date"> input type="hidden" name="-SortOrder" value="descending"> input type="hidden" name="-FindAny"> [FMP-Record] font size=-2><B>[FMP-Field: Event_Date]</B> [Event_Name]</font><br> font size=-2><B>[FMP-Field: Event_Date]</B> [Event_Name]</font><br> I'm sure that there is something really wrong... but I can't figure it out. Please help!
Anatoli Posted October 22, 2001 Author Posted October 22, 2001 input type="hidden" name="-lay" value="datefinal.html" that is wrong. -lay is FileMaker layout and < input type="hidden" name="-Format" value="results.htm"> is the request for HTML file. And refrain from scripts as much as you can...
Tyfud Posted October 25, 2001 Posted October 25, 2001 correct Anatoli, no scripts on the web, unless President bush asks you to do this to help the government find terrorists...hehe...ok bad joke. Anyhow, if you want examples. goto http://www.markjeffords.com (fellow developer friend of mine) and check out his CDML section which gives you examples of some basic FM tags, the create new record is one of those. This also begs the question since you have unlimited, are you planning on using Web Server Connector (WSC) or just having people hit through your IP address for now?
flyingmonkey Posted October 31, 2001 Posted October 31, 2001 I had the same problem of doing canned searches. All of the above responses are correct with their info but I have found an even simplier way of bulding the URL for your link. I'm using FMPro V4 so hopefully they haven't changed it for version 5. In FMPro 4 you go to the preferences>Web Companion>Configuration. In the Box labeled Log Activity select extended. Now go to your search page, if you don't have one you will have to build one with all of the necessary fields to do your complex find, and do a manual search for exactly what you need in your canned search. Now open the log file that filemaker has created, on a Mac it is called Web.log and is just a simple text file which happens to contain all of the commands that were sent between the client browser and filemaker pro. It's not too hard to find the search url that you just did, it will be at the bottom of the file, and copy and paste it as the url on your canned search link. The benefit to this is that you can do great canned searches that can do complex finds and sort the information and even tweak the url so that it can take you to custom built search results pages much like individual layouts in Filemaker.
Newbies ejdormit Posted August 9, 2002 Newbies Posted August 9, 2002 I know this is an old post but this question is still something I'm trying to work on. I would like to post record information on my index page without having to create a "dummy" referral page. my fear is that users may bookmark the front page and when they later return to the site they get incoherent cdml code. Why not use scripts? will it slow down performance? Thanks, ejdormit
Keith M. Davie Posted August 9, 2002 Posted August 9, 2002 The ScriptMaker engine is single-threaded. That means that it handles one ScriptMaker event at a time and does not queue additional requests. Thus, if a ScriptMaker event is being processed and a subsequent request is made on the ScriptMaker engine, ScriptMaker will not perform the second requested event. Data is not processed. Unprocessed data is as good as lost data. This is further compounded in that cdml does not recognize the fact that an event failure has occurred. The result is that the client submitting the second request in this near-simultaneous request action is presented with a success.htm and is led to believe that the transaction was successfully completed when in fact there was an event failure. However this does not mean that you cannot run ScriptMaker scripts safely in browser solutions. It merely means you need to construct a workaround to the problem. I know because I have created such a workaround and do that successfully at my site. Please feel free to visit and, if you have the time and inclination, you can make multiple registrations and test the effectiveness of the solution yourself. Instructions on how to test are included at the site. It will give you something to do this weekend.
cannes Posted August 10, 2002 Posted August 10, 2002 hi there i don't know if i understood right what you're looking for. but why don't you try with inlineactions ? [fmp-inlineaction]...[/fmp-inlineaction] maybe this helps mimmo
Keith M. Davie Posted August 10, 2002 Posted August 10, 2002 FWIW, inlineaction tags do not exist for FMPro 4.0, so the platform may be one reason. Even when one has the availability of inlineaction and multiple-token tags, there are still one or two things which can be accomplished with ScriptMaker which cannot be accomplished with inlineaction tags. Not to say that everyone wants or needs those things. And there are those who use ScriptMaker, but who really don't care about the concerns of the single-thread engine because they believe their site will be very low traffic and they will not encounter near-simultaneous requests; or what data they are handling with ScriptMaker is relatively unimportant should the event fail.
Anatoli Posted August 10, 2002 Author Posted August 10, 2002 Furthermore -- not all scripts can work on web. You will not get the result even from successfully executed script back to the web. Simply put treat FM database just as container for your data. The web job has sufficient power of WebCompanion's CDML, HTML, JavaScript, InLines, 10 or more variables etc.
Newbies ejdormit Posted August 12, 2002 Newbies Posted August 12, 2002 Keith... Thanks for the information... I guess my question was in 2 parts. I wanted to find out if there is a CDML option to post results on "index.html" instead of creating a dummy referral page? If this is not an option, then I thought that I could run a FMscript to post info on my first page. I've been toying with many ideas but can't seem to find any simple solutions. Thanks, Edgar
Keith M. Davie Posted August 13, 2002 Posted August 13, 2002 One of the beauties of FileMaker vis-a-vis CWP is that the developer (solution designer) usually has many design options. cdml design features which might be useful to you could include fmp-if conditionals, fmp-portals, and inlineactions. Depending on what you are trying to accomplish, it might be that a protected ScriptMaker event would provide an answer. The thing is, you need to really understand how these tags and tools can be used to their fullest, and there are no easy answers of how to accomplish that. It is part of the (arduously turtle like) learning curve.
The Bridge Posted August 13, 2002 Posted August 13, 2002 You may want to make index.html a frameset. The first frame would have a size of *, the other would have a size of 100%. The SRC for this second frame would be your FMPro call. I believe, but I'm not certain, that if someone were to bookmark the page it would bookmark the frameset, i.e. index.html. I think this is the answer you're looking for. Best of luck!
Anatoli Posted August 14, 2002 Author Posted August 14, 2002 This way I am calling auto log-in in one of our solutions. It looks like first index page, but in fact 3 pages are autoexecuted for this purpose.
Recommended Posts
This topic is 8206 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now