Still need help: Conditional Relationships?

wirledpeas

This topic is 6109 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi -

I'm still trying to figure out a way to create a conditional relationship between two databases. Basically, I have a db with contact info for a variety of people (call it ContactDB), and I want another db that has other information for a subset of the contacts (call it StudentDB). I want to find a way for the StudentDB to pull those records, and ONLY those records, for people who have a "Yes" under the "Student" Field in the ContactDB, and then have additional information associated with each student record like "Graduation Date." How do I do that?

Sorry I'm a newbie and thanks.

-Kate

Edited by Guest

Ok, this shows me how to hide fields. But I want to hide *records*... I'm not seeing how it can do that. Let's say I have the following people in ContactsDB:

1 Joe Schmoe Student 555-1212

2 Mary Moop Student 555-2345

3 Philip Grok Faculty 555-6789

4 Ingrid Honk Student,Faculty 555-7654

What I'd like to have happen is the following in StudentsDB:

1 Joe Schmoe 555-1212 Graduated 05/02

2 Mary Moop 555-2345 Graduated 12/06

4 Ingrid Honk 555-7654 Graduated 05/04

Edited by Guest

First, the obligatory question; why 2 tables? Why not just put the students in with the other people? Since you're marking them as students you can always tell them apart when needed.

Because you say you have 2 tables, and both have the student's info. But you don't mention anything about an ID to tie the 2 together. Which just does not make sense. Do people just enter the name and info twice? Why? Do they come from separate sources?