Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Base64 Encoding/Decoding

This topic is 5860 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

Included with your ScriptMaster plugin is an examples database that contains functions for Base64 encoding/decoding. However, the encoding function inserts returns every 76 characters (as per the Base64 standard). Ideally, I need an encoding function that does *not* insert returns, and I found one in this library:

Apache Commons Codec

My questions revolve around implementing the above library (the library loads just fine). I'm not a Java programmer, but after browsing the library documentation, I came up with the following custom functions:

1) Base64.encode ( text ; chunk )

/**

Converts any string into another string composed of only the Base64 character set.

@param text *str: any string

@param chunk *num: 0 (do *not* split into blocks of 76 characters) or 1 (split into blocks of 76 characters)

@return *str: a string composed of the Base64 characters

*/

Let (

[

_result = SMSetVariable( "textToEncode" ; text ) ; 

_code = "import org.apache.commons.codec.binary.*;" ; 

_code = _code & Case ( 

chunk ; 

"new String(new Base64().encodeBase64(textToEncode.getBytes(), true));" ; 

"new String(new Base64().encodeBase64(textToEncode.getBytes(), false));"

) 

] ;

Case ( not IsEmpty ( text ) ; EvaluateGroovy ( _code ) ) 

)

2) Base64.Decode ( text )

/**

Converts a string encoded with the Base64 algorithm back to its "natural" form

@param text *str: any string encoded with the Base64 algorithm

@return *str: a string in its "natural" form

*/

Let (

[

_result = SMSetVariable( "encodedText" ; text ) ; 

_code = "import org.apache.commons.codec.binary.*;" ; 

_code = _code & "new String(new Base64().decodeBase64(encodedText.getBytes()));" 

] ;

Case ( not IsEmpty ( text ) ; EvaluateGroovy ( _code ) ) 

)

The functions seem to work, but I do have some questions: