Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Portal riddle

WillJD

This topic is 8206 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have been operating a FMP 4 database for several years (updating from

earlier, flat-file versions, etc.) to run a translating business. But I don't know much about designing databases.

My system keeps good track of Jobs (when they come in, go out, how much

to charge, which translator/s did the work, how much each bills me,

etc.) as well as, through relationships, using and accessing client

details, translator info, etc. Each job also displays the corresponding

invoice number once it has been invoiced.

The Invoices file keeps good track of invoices and works wonders

generating reports of one sort or another, but this is where the

problem lies.

The Invoices file uses a line item file where the detail info for each

job is stored and then displayed via portals in Invoices, i.e. one

portal displays info from Jobs where I identify the jobs to be

invoiced, then another portal displays charge details for that job from

Line item and the invoice is printed out using that portal. But it doesn't work when I want to include more than one job on the same invoice. In other words, if I choose Job n

quote:

Originally posted by WillJD:

Maybe I should dump the portals and revert to the repeating fields

Dear gawd man, do NOT use repeating fields! They are a holdover from days gone by.

If I understand you correctly, you want your portal to display information from, as an example Jobs #123 and #456. While right now you can only get it to display one or the other.

Ok, this is a bit of a departure from traditional relational design. Normally when you define a relationship you are defining it between 2 fields, each of which contains a SINGLE JobNumber. The trick is to set the field on the right side of the relationship to contain as many JobNumbers as you want to view or include on the invoice.