Manually reorder portal records

Codeus

This topic is 3856 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I needed a way to manually reorder portal records from time to time and to keep a sequential number with each record for export purposes.

This example I created does this via a looping script which allows individual records to be moved up and down the sort order and also delete records from anyplace in the sequence and have the remaining records automatically resequenced.

I am not sure if it might get slow when dealing with large numbers of records but in my case there are unlikely to ever be more than a dozen or so.

I am still a relative novice with FM so would be interested if there is a slicker / quicker / better way of doing this.

Codeus

ManuallyReorderPortalRecords.fp7.zip

Edited by Guest
Removed Forum Sample File Topic Info

I think this could be a lot "cheaper" (and faster) if you dealt only with the two records that need to be swapped, e.g.:)

(after checking feasibility)

#

Go to Related Record [ “Child”; Show only related records ]

Set Field [ Child::Rank; Child::Rank + Get ( ScriptParameter ) ]

#

Go to Record/Request/Page [ Get ( RecordNumber ) + Get ( ScriptParameter ) ]

Set Field [ Child::Rank; Child::Rank - Get ( ScriptParameter ) ]

#

Commit Records/Requests

Go to Layout [ original layout ]

The script parameter is simply either 1 or -1.

Of course, none of these methods will work if two users want to arrange the records in different orders.

• Like 1

Ahhh, thanks, yes that is much simpler, and can also be applied partially to how a record is deleted from mid-sequence, although a loop is still required to update any records further down the sequence.

Thanks again,

Codeus

a loop is still required to update any records further down the sequence.

Or you could just replace field contents with serial numbers.