Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Apple script not working in runtime

This topic is 5786 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm a newbie to FM and need some help...

The following native Applescript (button opens FM container field named "document" containing a PDF file with Adobe Reader) works in FMProAdvanced 9.0v3 but not in runtime 9.0v3. How do I get this to work in both?

I think I need to somehow get the MacOSX v10.4.11 to associate Adobe Reader v7.1.0 in the runtime version of the program. When I finish entering the native Applescript code for the button, I am then asked to choose an application. I then select Adobe Reader.

The same problem occurs with another button that runs Adobe PhotoShop with JPEG images.

Thanks,

- Jansen

Error message: Object not found.

Unknown Error: -1728

Applescript code executed via Adobe Reader button with the above error messages...

tell application "FileMaker Pro"

set filePath to cell “document” of current record

set filePath to filePath as string

end tell

tell application "AdobeReader"

activate

open file filePath

end tell

Applescript code executed via Adobe PhotoShop button with the same error messages...

set filePath to cell “image” of current record

end tell

tell application "Photoshop"

activate

open file filePath

end tell

Probably it's because you are not application "FileMaker Pro", you are whatever the runtime application is. But, no matter, you do not need the line:

when you're running AppleScript within a Perform AppleScript step.

The application knows itself, it does not need that line, and it just causes problems. Try it without it, or just comment it out. Don't forget to also remove/comment out the end tell line. I usually just comment it out, because then you can remove the comments if you need to copy/paste it into Script Editor for testing (Script Editor needs those lines).