Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Help with Simple Chart plugin

This topic is 5732 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi

I am a complete newbie to data bases in general.

I've made a very small & simple file to collect some results from electrical tests. It is a record of equipment maintenance with a few fields to store PCB card number, location, condition etc. I have a second table containing fields to store the electrical test results. It holds the date of testing, card number (related to the card number in the first table) then four fields labelled 300mV, 5V, 7V & 10V (These are the four tests performed on the card) The data in these fields is the resulting output voltage of the PCB. One new record is created each time a PCB is tested.

I wish to plot these results in a basic line graph. I want the x axis to show the 300mV, 5V, 7V & 10V and the y axis to show the corresponding output result.

I am struggling as (I think) I effectively want the record to be the data series with which to plot the graph, using the value of four fields - one to plot each point on the graph. It seems, however I try and configure the simple chart plugin it need it's data series to come from one field, using a range of found records to get the points to plot. Is this right, or can I achieve what I want?

Some pointers to some very simple instructions or alternate methods/approaches would be great.

Many thanks in advance, Stephen.

I've probably not explained very well, so please ask if you need more detail...

I guess it comes down to how far you want to got with charting in FM. xmChart is a great product I've used for years, but perhaps a bit daunting for beginners, but then again once you pick it up its a fantastic addition to FM. If you want only one line chart, and have an integrated spreadsheet program with graphing, perhaps then export to that program and do it there. But you cant go wrong with xmChart, you might try their demo.

• Newbies