Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Combining PDFs - The Blazing Fast Method

This topic is 5694 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi, Matt -

I looked forward to reading and viewing your new article concerning combined PDFs and how they can be more quickly generated in Filemaker Pro. Unfortunately, while your presentation is terrific, the technique still doesn't accomplish what I needed to work on a client solution I've been working with for almost eight months now. I wanted to give your demo a workout so I set up two tables one for each pdf page and made the content of each page a container field the entire size of the page. I filled them with image files of approximately 250Kb each, and then I created 100 records in each table. The resultant Combined.pdf comes out to be about 76 MB in size.

While the page content is not complicated (as many of mine are) each includes a fairly large jpg (which many of mine do also when used as form backgrounds). It took almost 8 minutes to create the Combined.pdf changing your Save Records as PDF from Current Record to records Being Browsed. The slowdown happens within Filemaker Pro as it tries to create a pdf of one record per page. It is intolerably slow. Combine that with the subsequent appending of a second, equally large and slow to build pdf file.