Appraisal Software

fossapp

This topic is 5560 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am new to filemaker and am currently using FM7. I am trying to create a system for tracking clients, appraisals and items. I have 3 tables one is

CLIENT (client_id[serial, auto-enter], First_Name, Last_Name, Address, City, State, Zip, Phone, Email)

APPRAISAL (appraisal_id[serial, auto-enter], Appraisal_Purpose, Appraisal_method, client_id)

ITEMS (item_id[serial, auto-enter, Artist, Height, Width, appraisal_id, etc,)

I have created relationships between CLIENT:client_id & APPRAISAL:client_id

APPRAISAL:appraisal_id & ITEMS:appraisal_id

I then created a button on CLIENT that goes to APPRAISAL and Creates a new record.

The issue is that when I create this button it opens the appraisal layout but I can't get the APPRAISAL:client_id to fill in the with newly generated serial from CLIENT:client_id,nor can I get the item_id to work.

Am I going about this wrong or am I missing something? Thanks

What you need to do is store the ClientID before you switch to the Appraisal layout and create a new record.

With FM7, you do not have variables (that came in later versions), so you can use a global field. In your New Appraisal script that is on the Client form, use the Set Field script step to populate a global field in Clients with the current ClientID.

Then, after you create the new record in Appraisals, use Set Field to populate the foreign ClientID with the global field contents.

OK, so I tried your suggestion and am not getting anywhere.

My NEW APPRAISAL script reads:

Set Field [client::client_id]

Go to Layout ["appraisal"(appraisal)]

New Record/Request

Set Field [Appraisal::client_id]

what am I missing?

The realationships are set to have

Client::client_id=appraisal::client_id

appraisal::appraisal_id=items::appraisal_id

Thanks for your help