Quick Data Entry

This topic is 5135 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm a teacher with ~50 students. I used to employ Excel to keep track of grades, but more recently I've been shifting to using Filemaker, as it enables me to send out grade automated reports via email.

But I still find Excel a lot more efficient for basic data entry tasks. For instance, I can hit "return" or "down arrow" to quickly move down through a data column, recording all students' grades for given assignment. I recently upgraded from FM 7 to FM 10, and the "Table View" is great for viewing my students' data in an Excel-like format. But I can't figure out what keystroke will move me rapidly down through the data column, from one record to the next, keeping the cursor in the same field.

So at present I'm doing data entry in Excel and then importing it to FM. The import phase is a bit time consuming, though, and I'd prefer to spend less time in crash-prone Excel.

How do you pros handle this sort of data entry? Is there a trick I'm missing that makes it easy in FM? Or should I stick to doing entry in Excel and just write a script to automate the import process?

This can now be done with script triggers. Since you have FM10, check out this demo.

Demo requires FM10.

http://fmforums.com/forum/showtopic.php?tid/200620

Edited by Guest
Added Link

Look for the Code function under FileMaker Help.

You can capture if a modified key was pressed by using Get(TriggerModifierKeys), but havent tested it with the arrows.

OK, thanks for these tips. For anyone else interested, here are the codes which are returned by Code(Get(TriggerModifierKeys)):

none pressed: 48

shift: 49

option: 56

control: 52

shift-option: 57

shift-control: 53

option-control: 5000049

shift-option-control: 5100049

You can modify mr_vodka's excellent script by adding an initial If line to check whether a certain modifier key has been pressed: