Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Sharing Problem

This topic is 5558 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am very new to FileMaker, I have a small FileMaker db with only 5 users. The file is on a shared directory on the network. If one user is using the db no one else can enter. If a second user tries to enter he/she get a message saying that the file is being used by another user and it is locked. The sharing option is selected in this database and I understand that the version that we have FileMakerPro9 can take up to 9 users working in the same time. can some one help?

thanks

FM files should not be accessed from a shared directory, but rather "hosted" by a workstation. Others open the file thru the Open Remote dialog.

Is this a full file or is it a runtime? If it is a runtime, then it is not multi-user and is behaving as expected. Who created this file and can you contact them?

this a full file not a runtime. Why cann't I keep the file in a folder on the network? this seems easier to me than keeping it on one workstation then we have to set permissions for others to access. would it be possible to do that. I think that users did not open the file thru the Open Remote dialog could that be the reason why they got the error?

thanks

I moved this topic, as it's more about "peer-to-peer sharing" than FileMaker Server. Al, basically you are not understanding how FileMaker sharing works. It's not your fault, as it's different from most other applications, and FileMaker does not advertise the fact (big red letters would be good :-); though I'm sure it's there prominently in the documentation.

FileMaker is a client-server kind of application; in your case one copy of regular FileMaker Pro is behaving as the "host". It does NOT use the operating system's "sharing," not at all. In fact, they are "enemies," as conflicting access can (and eventually will) cause file corruption.