Newbies Drooling Dog Posted February 25, 2009 Newbies Posted February 25, 2009 (edited) I feel like an idiot asking this, as it seems so simple, but I just can't figure it out. This is dealing with 2 tables. I'll also include the fields that matter... Table One: Employees Fields: employeeID, fullName (calculated/concatenated field) Table Two: Meeting Notes Fields: employeeIDfk (foreign key from Employees table), mnNotes What I'm trying to do... On the Meeting Notes data entry screen, I'd like to be able to select present users with the fullName field (from Employees) in a dropdown list, but have the database actually populate with the employeeID field (Primary Key from Employees) value. Does that make sense? I fear it may not. : In a nutshell, when I go to add notes about a meeting with an employee, I need to be able to attach those notes to the employee, so I know who I'm talking about. I don't know people's employeeIDs, so I need to be able to select by name, but have the value in the database be recorded as the employeeID. My relationships are all set up. Just not sure how to get this done on the data entry screen. Thanks. Edited February 25, 2009 by Guest
mr_vodka Posted February 25, 2009 Posted February 25, 2009 Well you can use a popup menu or drop down. The popup will hide the underlying ID value( first value) and display the second value. If you use a drop down, when you go to select the value, it will display the second value, but after selection, the field will display the first value.
Newbies Drooling Dog Posted February 25, 2009 Author Newbies Posted February 25, 2009 Thanks for the quick reply. I get what you're saying, but I'm afraid I need the steps to carry this thing out. I go into edit layout, then drag a field in? Not sure if that's right, or where to go from there.
Newbies Drooling Dog Posted February 25, 2009 Author Newbies Posted February 25, 2009 I think I'm getting closer, but I'm still not there yet. Here is what I tried... 1. Went to Manage > Value Lists 2. Added a new one named "employeeList" with the following settings... Use values from field "Employees::fullName 3. Then I opened up the "Meeting Notes" table in edit layout mode. 4. Dragged a new field onto the canvas. 5. Switched the table to "Employees", and selected "fullName". 6. Right-clicked on that field, and chose Field/Control > Setup. 7. Chose the following settings... Control Style Display As > Pop-up Menu Display values from employeeList Display data from Employees > fullName It's still not working, but I think I'm on the right path. Any pointers?
mr_vodka Posted February 25, 2009 Posted February 25, 2009 The value list should be based off of, Employees::EmployeeID as the first field, and Employees::fullName as teh second field. (Also display values from second field checked). Your fullname field will have to be indexed.
Newbies Drooling Dog Posted February 25, 2009 Author Newbies Posted February 25, 2009 Thanks. I have that set up, but something is still off. My Pop-up list is a yellow box. Nothing happens when I click on it.
Recommended Posts
This topic is 5809 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now