Server Maintenance This Week. ×

XSLT Style Sheet help

blanky2

This topic is 5535 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am not a programmer, and know very little about XSLT style sheets. I have some xml information that i need to import into filemaker pro 10.

Can someone show me how to do this? Here is my sample XML code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

2009-02-24T21:45:17Z

2009-02-24T21:47:03Z

Everyone

A Bunch of info

5843393 23 John Doe Lane Ln. Parkland FL 33076 Work
Magazine 378067 Book 378068 John Doe 14790972

This may take more than a simple "do this". Looking at your sample, one person can have many addresses, and also many tags. If you intend to maintain the same data structure in Filemaker, you will need to import the data three times, each time into a different table - and using a different stylesheet for each.

---

BTW, the example is not valid XML (look at the tags around "Doe"). I also suspect that it may not be representative (only one person every time? No enclosing element for multiple people?).

Edited by Guest

You are correct, it is multiple persons. Here is the corrected code:

2009-02-24T21:45:17Z

2009-02-24T21:47:03Z

Everyone

A Bunch of info

5843393 23 John Doe Lane Ln. Parkland FL 33076 Work
Magazine 378067 Book 378068 John Doe 14790972

From what I've read, I kind of thought I might have to import 3 times, and would be able to link the relationships in my database. However, I couldn't find any examples of how to do the XSLT sheet for this kind of data. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Here is a partial start, on the Persons xsl stylesheet. You'd need to add more fields, both to the Metadata section, and to the lower part. All the plain Person fields are at the same level. The Addresses would be a different xsl file, somewhat similar, but getting data from the

level.