Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Relationships Killing Me!

phuebs

This topic is 5446 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

HELP! Self-taught Filemaker user. I'm doing really well so far...but struggling on grasping the relationships. I understand what they do and how they work, but I'm missing something when I set them up.

I have a database of prospects for our school/church. We make "calls" on these prospects--either by phone, E-mail, or personal visits.

I established three entity tables: 1)Prospects, 2)Calls, 3)Caller (person making the contact).

I want to have one of my tabs on my Prospects layout contain a portal that shows all calls made on that contact, and who it was that made the call. I don't really need to see the layouts and records for calls or callers, just in reports.

I have a primary key for each table. I have a foreign key for prospects in calls and callers, for calls in prospects and callers, and for callers in prospects and calls.

BUT I JUST DON'T GET WHICH ONES TO TIE TOGETHER TO MAKE IT DISPLAY RIGHT!

Thanks for your help!

Thanks. I tried it, but something just was not working yet. I'm attaching an empty copy of my work so far. What I want is for the tab under Prospects called "New Call Activity" to display what I had previous done with the tab "Call Activity" in the past using just repeating fields.

You can see in the relationships how I tried to set it up, but it isn't working. I add new "calls" in the table, but the wrong prospect ID shows up, so I know I'm off to a bad start right there.

Thanks for your help someone!

If my fp7 file didn't attach right let me know....

That's strange about the global thing, because studying the FM Training Series book and samples, it appears their kf_'s are all global! That's probably where I went wrong. It seems to almost do what I want now.