Server Maintenance This Week. ×

HELP! Constantly losing comm' with FM10 Server

This topic is 5365 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Please help!!! Forgive me ahead of time if improper technical jargon is used. I'm a complete novice at this, especially with regards to the FM Server / IT side of things. I'm far more comfortable simply creating databases.

We're running FM10 on about 20 clients via FM10 Server (not advanced). The entire company is consistently kicked off the server with the message "Communication with the host was lost...". It occurs anywhere from 2 or 3 times up to 10-15 times daily. The only warning received in the server log is "no longer responding; connection closed" - followed by either (51) or (10). I've gone through all the troubleshooting documents I can and have yet to find any specific reference to those 2 error message numbers. I've also routinely checked for script errors or login errors that could possibly cause such a thing - so far it seems completely random with no user action triggering the severed connection.

Assuming for a moment there's absolutely nothing wrong with our LAN, what within FM Server itself (or the shared files) could cause this? Is there something obvious I could have programmed incorrectly that would constantly cause users to be kicked off? Perhaps a general setting in the server admin?

Please feel free to ask me more details if my questions are too vague.

Thanks in advance for sharing your wisdom!

Assuming for a moment there's absolutely nothing wrong with our LAN, what within FM Server itself (or the shared files) could cause this?

Are you using wireless?

Check the energy saver preferences on the server and the client machines. The server cpu or hard disk should never sleep. I don't like client machines sleeping either.