iwp working?

This topic is 5243 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

ok, i have never tried iwp before but thought that i might give it a shot....i set up the database to be shared via iwp, and then connect to it from my computer at the house (gotta love logmein!) but when i hit the ip that the database gives me, all it says on the page is "it works!"

what am i doing wrong? i quickly read through the instant web publishing guide from fm, but it's saying that all i have to do is type in the web address that the database gives me and it will take me to a page that has my database link in it.....i'm not getting that.

Why are you using logmein? That is a remote control application and has no relevance to IWP.

Can you be a bit clearer about the location of the hosting computer and your home computer - is the host at your work place?

The address that you would use at home is different to the address you use in the office - because the 2 machines are in different networks.

To allow your home to contact the office you will need to configure the internet router (office) to allow the IWP traffic and forward it to the hosting computer, and use the Public IP address of your office as the replacement address for the one provided by the hosting machine.

If much of this is "mumbo jumbo" then you will need to read up on "port forwarding" or get technical help to provide it.

Edited by Guest