Server Maintenance This Week. ×

pausing filemaker script for applescript to finish

This topic is 5201 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

How do get a Filemaker script to wait while I have a Perform Applescript step convert a long audio file using iTunes. I need filemaker to wait because the rest of the filemaker script uses the results of the applescript step. I would like to do this without user input.

thanks for any ideas

I'm no AppleScript expert, but could you get the AppleScript to invoke a FileMaker script when the AppleScript has completed execution?

If you can then you can split your FM script in two parts.

I never thought of that. I don't know if applescript can activate a filemaker script.

thanks for the idea.

I was thinking maybe using a Loop script step that checked a filemaker field for the word "done". I would have the applescript set the filemaker cell to "done" when the applescript finished

do script FileMaker script "script name"

That is the syntax for the command. You'd want this inside a tell database block, or have the file open and frontmost.

That is the way to do it. Both FileMaker and AppleScript internally will wait for one operation to complete before moving on to the next. So it's best to pass off control to the one who's doing a long operation, then let it call the other.

So I just want to understand something.

The Filemaker Pro script will wait for the Perform Applescript step to finish before going on to the rest of the Filemaker Pro script?

Does that happen even if the Perform Applescript step takes up to 5 minutes to complete?

Well, I'd hate to say it "always" does. It sort of depends what the AppleScript started. But I think I can say that FileMaker waits until the AppleScript thinks it's done. I've had very few problems with the method of using Perform AppleScript to run an AppleScript, which at the end calls the next FileMaker script (by name).