Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Pie Chart Logic Issues

JimmyLewis

This topic is 5076 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

I am quite new to filemaker and decided to try and build my own financial reporting system. I am having several issues, but right now my main problem is getting reports out of the data.

I am trying to build a Pie Chart in my "month sub-summary" part. The object is to take my fields:

p_date, Payee,

Amount,

Category,

Subcategory,

month/year (used for sorting)

kp_id (serial)

My major problem always falls when i want to get info based on a date range AND a category.

In this pie chart, labeled "Spending Per Category", I am trying to have the chart represent the percentage and amount spent that month in each category (the pie representing total spent that month).

I have tried various things, all failing. My current approach was to create calculation fields that add up each category in the body, for example:

If(category="Education";

Sum ( Amount ); 0)

then i created summary fields, put in the subsummary section, that sum up each individual category for that month. That seems to work.

so now that i have my monthly totals per category, how do i formulate the chart to reflect the results i want?

By the way, i am not a developer and can only assume that some of my logic can be cut in half, if not changed, so any suggestions on the thought process are more than welcome as well.

Thank you,

Jimmy

Hi,

The chart sent to me has been of great help. Thank you for the time, a lot of it has been explained to me through your work.

There seems to be a problem though when I create my own based on your parameters and calculations. It seems that the graph shows all the results and percentages, however in the trailing sub-summary, similar to the one you created, it only shows me one category, as opposed to a summary list of all of them and their amounts by month, like it appears on yours.