SC Plugin Help

This topic is 5068 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

No filemaker plugin can trigger a file to be uploaded on your clients machine if they are not running FileMaker, or without any interaction on the part of the person receiving the PDF you are attaching and emailing. That would border on virus behavior!

You can, however, use the SuperContainer Companion Plugin upload a file to SuperContainer on your end in the same script you are using to email your customers (or a different script if you prefer). You can use the SCSetContainer function to script an upload from your local machine to a SuperContainer URL.

Thank you Dave!

That is what I was looking for. This is my first time using SuperContainer for a project and I am in learning mode. I just didn't know what function to use.

The email is being sent by FM and I just want a record of the email PDF within the FM file inside a SC web viewer.

• 2 weeks later...

Dave,

I will bother you again if I may, for a small amount of direction.

After some trial and error, I have written a test script that performs the following:

1] sets a variable to the pdf path and name

2] saves the records as a pdf using the variable

3] inserts the saved pdf into a container field

4] sets the $base variable using the SCSetBaseURL function

5] sets the $result variable using the SCSetContainer function

6] sets the web viewer to reload itself

The web viewer is set to the name and path of the file that would be created with step 5.

My problem is the SCSetContainer function always overwrites the file at the location even when the file has a different name. I am adding an ID from a field to each pdf.

Is there a way to have SCSetContainer NOT overwrite the file each time?