Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Separation model relevancy?

This topic is 5043 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

First off, you should know that I am a total newbie to Filemaker.

One of my concerns with Filemaker has always been the issues surrounding updating apps... distributed apps. It appears that the separation model is an attempt to alleviate some of these issues; however, I've read in a couple of places that the separation model is no longer relevant.

Not sure what is meant by this, but I thought I would ask the question. Is the separation model ideal for those situations where you will need to update the solution on a regular basis?

The separation model is as relevant as it ever was. It depends on who you ask as to whether it was ever a good thing or not. :

IOW the separation model is a technique that trades effort and complexity in development for some ease in updating the solution later. It never completely solved all the problems -- for instance it only eases updates in interface not data structure -- and it introduces quite a few issues of its own, which is why it was never whole-heartedly adopted.

IMHO if you are a beginner, forget about it for now. Just build databases that work.

It think using the separation model depends more on what kind of access you have to the files (now and future), and what the general situation is. In many situations it is the only sane way to go. Many changes to files, especially established solutions, can be done entirely in the "interface" file. Scripts, layouts, and most relationship changes are in the interface file.

Yes, you'll sometimes need to add a field or relationship to the "data" file. But this takes much less time than the above. You can stop the files on FileMaker Server, make additions/adjustments, then put them back up again.