Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Export difficulties

This topic is 4843 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I have to export a copy of the data in a FileMaker database to another database but keep running into difficulties, any help would be much appreciated. I've never used FileMaker before so I fear I may have missed something that the rest of you consider obvious so please feel free to suggest such things if they sound like a possible solution

Problem 1. - hidden tables, the way the database has been configured, loading any table's file throws up a form/dashboard which only allows access to the table that matches the current tab on the form/dashboard, even clicking file/manage/database and looking under the tables tab only shows the one table (though the relationships tab shows more), unfortunately most of the tables do not feature on any of the tabs or even subtabs. As such we can't even use the export option on most of the tables to get any of the data out.

Problem 2. - Field truncation, the users of the database have used some fields for stuff they probably shouldn't have and as such the data gets truncated during export. Are there any ways to avoid this and get the data out intact? I can't recall if it truncated when exporting to csv but this file introduced a whole other set of problems due to no field headers and the fields being in a different order to in the table.

Problem 3. - The export type doesn't support repeating fields, again is there any way to avoid this and retrieve the data intact?

Problem 4. - "x" could not be opened. (Not Found), would I be correct in reading this as the user deleted a table but somehow the relationship between that table and another is still in the schema?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks