Specifying select print options in scripting

aesquer

This topic is 4357 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Maybe it's just that I'm still relatively new to FileMaker Pro, or maybe it's just that I've been working on this project for far too long this weekend, but I'm putting together a script that will switch to the printable version of a layout, print the current record only, then go back. As I'm specifying the print options, however, the dialog targets my current printer as well, so when I save the options, the printer name shows up in the script edit window. Normally I wouldn't mind, except that I'm putting together a runtime solution that'll be up for sale. So my question is, is there a way to get FileMaker to acknowledge the print current record only option while ignoring my printer? Or will my printer being named even matter much when end users go to print (will it automatically switch to a default then or what)?

(Thanks in advance for helping a self-admitted rookie on what's probably an easy one to figure out.)

Open a new window with the current found set, change to the print layout, then select the current record (show all records, omit record, show omitted). Now there is only one record in the current found set so the correct record will preview, and it matters not whether the print dialog prints all records.