Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Finding Empty Fields

This topic is 4825 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am creating a database that uploads our automated meter readings and then I want to display on a layout all of the accounts that the reading did not come through on. On my attached image, I show a field labeled KWH. This is the meter reading. I'm trying to build a script that searches for all records that are in the book BB1 and where the KWH field is blank. The KWH field is a record from a related table. Anytime I put the find in for the KWH field and run the script, I get 0 out of 101 records found. I know I'm missing something, but I'm a FileMaker newbie and I'm stuck at this point. I've tried using the = sign and even creating a match record field and finding all those and i still get blanks.

Any help?

Thank you very much!

File Maker Search.png

I am creating a database that uploads our automated meter readings and then I want to display on a layout all of the accounts that the reading did not come through on. On my attached image, I show a field labeled KWH. This is the meter reading. I'm trying to build a script that searches for all records that are in the book BB1 and where the KWH field is blank. The KWH field is a record from a related table. Anytime I put the find in for the KWH field and run the script, I get 0 out of 101 records found. I know I'm missing something, but I'm a FileMaker newbie and I'm stuck at this point. I've tried using the = sign and even creating a match record field and finding all those and i still get blanks.

Any help?

Thank you very much!

post-103272-0-86704500-1297189368_thumb.

First try doing a basic search to see if it works. In the same view that you show in your attached pic, click on "Find". In the KWH field type "=" (no quotes) and then click "Perform Find"