Server Maintenance This Week. ×

XPath Parsing (attibutes of self-closed elements)

This topic is 4811 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm pretty new to XPath, an could use a little help with walking incoming XML strings.

Focusing on the element:

<birthTime value="19530215112005"/>

How do I structure a query to return just the enclosed data for this type of XML element (self-closed, with attributes)? (i.e. 19530215112005). These occur throughout my XML, and I need to know how to pull them out in general.

Thanks,

Drew Tenenholz

Sample XML

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

<ClinicalDocument xmlns="urn:hl7-org:v3" xmlns:sdtc="urn:hl7-org:sdtc" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:schemaLocation="urn:hl7-org:v3 http://xreg2.nist.gov:8080/hitspValidation/schema/cdar2c32/infrastructure/cda/C32_CDA.xsd">

<realmCode code="US" />

<typeId root="2.16.840.1.113883.1.3" extension="POCD_HD000040" />

<templateId root="2.16.840.1.113883.3.27.1776" assigningAuthorityName="CDA/R2" />

<templateId root="2.16.840.1.113883.10.20.1" assigningAuthorityName="CCD" />

<templateId root="2.16.840.1.113883.10.20.3" assigningAuthorityName="HL7/CDT Header" />

<templateId root="2.16.840.1.113883.3.88.11.32.1" assigningAuthorityName="HL7/CDT Header" />

<templateId root="1.3.6.1.4.1.19376.1.5.3.1.1.1" assigningAuthorityName="HL7/CDT Header" />

<id root="2.16.840.1.113883.3.72" extension="CCD_AMBv14_DS01" assigningAuthorityName="NIST Healthcare Project" />

<code code="34133-9" displayName="Summarization of episode note" codeSystem="2.16.840.1.113883.6.1" codeSystemName="LOINC" />

<title>Patient Summary - Ambulatory</title>

<effectiveTime value="20100405130945-0500" />

<confidentialityCode>

<originalText>Test Data Only</originalText>

</confidentialityCode>

<languageCode code="en-US" />

<recordTarget>

<patientRole>

<id extension="9996799589" root="METROCLINIC" assigningAuthorityName="Metropolitan Clinic" />