conditional value list

This topic is 4785 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi everyone :)

I am a verry big noob when it comes to filemaker pro 8 advanced and I need some help.

The problem is: I have a table called hardware and a table called software. In my software table there is a field called: computers.

I want the computer field to be a value list with a condition. My hardware table has records for not only computers but also for peripheral devices.

So my question is how would I make a value list that does the following:

if (Hardware::Category; "Server") or if(Hardware::Category; "Laptop") or if(Hardware::Category; "Desktop") then

show the value list of Hardware::Name in my software::Computers field.

How would I do this? Do I have to create a calculation field of the software::Computers field which links to the value list?

Could someone give me an example on how this would be done? Help is really appreciated ;)

right now the value list shows all the records of Hardware::Name including the peripheral devices >.<!

It should however only show the records which have the category field filled in with Server, Laptop or Desktop

I'm stuck on this problem xD (Which sounds quite stupid since it looks so easy to fix :S)

You could make a field in Hardware called "isComputer":

Let( hw = Hardware::Category ; hw = "Server" or hw = "Laptop" or hw = "Desktop" )

Make a calculated field in Software called "One" that simply equals 1.

Make a relationship software::One = hardware::isComputer.

Now use the "include only related" option in your value list.

Let( hw = Hardware::Category ; hw = "Server" or hw = "Laptop" or hw = "Desktop" )

I didn't really understand this part. Is hw the field isComputer and does that need to be a calculated field or..? :S

I tryed doing this in the isComputer field:

Let(Hardware::Category; IsComputer = "Server" or IsComputer = "Laptop" or IsComputer = "Desktop")