Newbie needs help

This topic is 4788 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hoping someone can help me as I am a rank beginner and what I'm trying to do is rather complicated (or so it seems).

I have a table which has a field called Visit and it's populated with the following: Month X - Day 1 (Day 2, Day 3, etc.)

In another table I have a field called Month which shows the actual numeric value for each month: 1 for January, 2 for February, etc.

What I need to do is to create a relationship between the two tables on the above fields and then I need to take the numeric value in "month" and insert it into the field called "Visit" to replace the X (which was used as a placeholder in another database.)

I think I got the relationship set up correctly but nothing happens in my table so am not sure. As for the next step(s), I am completely lost as to what function to even use. I have searched for multiple things on the internet but have only found bits and pieces and no way to put it all together.

I am using Filmaker Pro 11 on a Mac. I would really appreciate anyone's help on this!

Thank you!!!!

Can you give an example of what an entry in Visit actually looks like? Is it a month name?

I don't see why you'd need a relationship to replace month names with numbers. A calc like this would do it:

Substitute( Visit ; [ "Jan" ; 1 ] ;[ "Feb" ; 2 ] ;[ "Mar" ; 3 ] ) // ... etc

Can you give an example of what an entry in Visit actually looks like? Is it a month name?

I don't see why you'd need a relationship to replace month names with numbers. A calc like this would do it:

Substitute( Visit ; [ "Jan" ; 1 ] ;[ "Feb" ; 2 ] ;[ "Mar" ; 3 ] ) // ... etc

The Visit field looks like this:

Visit

Month X - Day 1

Month X - Day 8

Month X - Day 10

Month X - Day 1

Month X - Day 1

Each visit is linked by ID number and date. Hope this helps!

Thank you!

It literally says "Month X"? So how do we know which month to replace it with?