Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Running a Report to Group Many-to-many relationship

This topic is 4752 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello,

I'm new to FileMaker and have been modifying the Contact Management starter solution to fit my company's needs. We are trying to keep track of our contacts, and will be assigning "codes" or labels to each contact designating certain characteristics (for example - media, art, entertainment, etc.).

Not sure if this is the best way to go about doing this, but I've created a "Code" tables (with Code_Type as the primary key) and have linked it to the Contact Management table (k_ID_Contact as the primary key) with a join table, "Code Assignments."

I've inserted a portal on the Contact Management Record Detail layout and used the Code_Type field as a value list so a user can select up to 5 codes per contact which is then stored in the Code Assignments field. This is all set up and working properly.

My challenge is I want to create a report that will group contacts by code. I started out by duplicating the Contact List Report (the starter solution's built-in report for grouping contacts by company) and attempted changing fields to reference every combination of Code_Type in all of my tables, and could not get this to work. At best it displayed the first code assignment in the Code Assignments table but neglected the fact that each Contact is in multiple groups of codes. For example, Contact A may be coded as entertainment, media, AND art.

How do I create a report that will list each code and every contact that has been coded as such? For example:

Media

Contact A

Contact B

Contact C

Art

Contact A

Contact C

Contact F

Do I need a script? Am I overcomplicating this? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated! I've attached a screenshot of how my table relationships are linked, let me know if I need to upload anything else! Also, I'm very new to FileMaker so my knowledge is limited!