Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Limit user access to specific fields

This topic is 4651 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello,

I'm a small business owner and I've had the insane idea to attempt to develop a DB for my own needs. I've been using a MS-Access DB for the past 15 yrs (which has worked fine, but the consultant who developed it passed away recently) and so I've got a fairly good grasp of the structure and the elements (including all tables and relationships). I haven't got a clue however about how to put in place all the scripts that I'll require and none of the books I've read (FMP11 The Missing Manual, FMP10 Bible, and even FM9 Developer Reference) have been much help in learning where to begin.

Two questions:

1) Any suggestions on where someone with zero experience in scripting can get something useful to work with ?

2) I've got a good part of the layout structure already built, however I'd like to replicate a function that has worked well over the years on my Access DB. On the Customer information layout, there is a field for the "short name" of the customer (a different field from the full name). This "short name" field is useful in two ways:

a) it allows users to find records based on a simple version of the full name (making it possible to keep records of similarly named companies distinguishable).

B) once the "short name" is taken for one company, it cannot be used as the "short name" for any other company (so it must have the "unique" attribute). It must also be impossible for users to modify the "short name" once it has been established for a record, but it must be possible for users to enter a NEW "short name" when registering a new record.

I suspect that I'll need to use a script to enable the above, but I read something on this forum with a comment suggesting this should be done with RLA (record level access) and privilege set ?

Any help or suggestions would be immensely appreciated.