Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Best Way To Get New Clients

PinnWal

This topic is 8443 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello Forum smile.gif

I'm an FM Freelancer in the New York area & I was wondering what the FM Professionals around the country (and world) do to scrounge up business.

How do you guys market yourselves (if you market)? How do you make people aware of the services you provide? Basically, how do you find the clients who need your services?

Thanx in advance for all of the ideas, suggestions (and offers wink.gif)

Later :-)

I don't know abou the US but here in little old UK general trust of anyone IT took a huge whack after the y2k non-event. The best way to start your own consultancy is to start small and build by recommendation. Start by offering your sevices to small companies and build. Over here there are some co-ops of IT geezers each with different skills, together they offer a total service (you can't know everything after all) most importantly you have got to do a good job that's where the recommendations come from!

good luck

First, I'd join the FileMaker Solutions Alliance. That will put your information on the FM web site. Next, Co-Media Marketing prints a directory that goes into every shrink box with FileMaker (www.co-media.com). Next is probably FileMaker Pro Advisor magazine. Then there are any publications for industries you wish to target. I'd also contact the FM rep in your area. Once you're established, the best business is repeat or referrals from existing clients. -bd

As with any entrepreneur, your best bet is word of mouth.

Don't be afraid to send flyers, brochures, e-mails, etc. to anyone you've worked with (unless, of course, they fired you). Always have business cards with you, even on social occasions (amazing how much work results from "social" contacts).