Server Maintenance This Week. ×

DDR Overview Edition ... is it feasible?

K1200

This topic is 4455 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

As a developer, I keep a copy of my latest DDR handy as a reference. More often than not, however, I'm just looking to confirm data type or which other fields are in a particular table (there are over 100 tables in my main application).

What I really need is a DDR Overview Edition ... and looking at the raw XML, it doesn't seem all that unrealistic to obtain. But I admit, XML is at the far end of the room when it comes to my personal knowledge. I've implemented a couple of XML style sheets, but that's it.

Can someone explain what would be involved in modifying FMP's DDR file to produce an abbreviated version? Or is there a configurable XML reader, similar to some of the advanced source code editors? I've attached a mock up of the level of detail I'd like to see ... mainly one-line-per-field ... and with only four or five items, like data type and field comment.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

post-81548-0-02160500-1329704878_thumb.p

@ all: thanks for the responses.

Yes, I'm fairly familiar with both of those, having run trial versions about a year ago. If I needed a big gun tool, I'd definitely go with Base Elements ... from my own evaluation and for some of the reasons cited.

But what I need here is a BB gun.

So, thanks ... but my original inquiry still stands: Is it feasible to adapt/modify/interpret the DDR to produce the simple table?

Edit: Poking around, I found the Print button on the bottom of the Manage Database screen. It's not a button I've ever used ... or even noticed. But it does produce a basic field-level listing ... for individual tables. I'll see if I can't route the text into a file and do some reformatting.

I'll post my results.

Edited by K1200

You want fields BB gun … okay … create DDR but deselect every checkbox. Specify as XML.