Server Maintenance This Week. ×

SystemIpAddress getting the correct one

trevix

This topic is 4321 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have limited knowledge of Ethernet and TCP/IP so you will excuse my ignorance...

I have FileMaker Pro 12 that host a file on OSX.

I need to get, on the hosting FileMaker Pro, the ip address of this same computer.

On the network preference of the Mac I've IPv4: 192.168.1.130 (the router is 192.168.1.254)

This is the IP that I need to get in my calculation...but:

On the sharing of FM I have 10.0.2.1; 192.168.1.130

A get(SystemIpAddress) gives me:

I could easily pull the second line from the list, but this list seems to change often (the 10.0.2.1 wasn't there a few days ago). For example on the VMware Windows 7 partition of the same machine, the function gives me 192.168.1.132 (that is correct), without other values on the list.

On another Mac on the same intranet I get 192.168.1.135 (correct). One value only.

Since this is going to be a solution to be sold, I need a way to nail it down...

I feel that this is related to DNS, but this info does not help me.

Thanks for reading.

Trevix

Hi there,

the other IPs are the ones created by VMWare for the virtual adapters. Anyway, there could be other reasons to see more than one value.

I have a similar test running in my solutions :

I suggest you create a field in some parameter table, e.g. "RouterIP".

That field could be set once and for all when the DB admin "installs" the file. (that is, opens it for the first time on that machine)

Then you should be able to easily retrieve the correct value by somehow filtering the IP list, comparing values against the first 3 groups of figures of the router's IP (including the 3rd dot) : 192.168.1.