Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Value list containing customer surnames from another related table

db_tragic

This topic is 4288 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Novice here.

Designing a simple database containing info about horse owners (one owner may have several horses), and their horses. I want to be able to set a field in the 'Horse Details' table, that contains the owners surname, from the 'Owner Details' table, where I can select an already existing owner surname from a drop down list. ie adding a new or additional horse against a current owner.

This is to be performed on the iPad.

Just not sure how to set up the field correctly in the 'Horse Details' table (and any considerations I may need to make in setting up the related field in the 'Owner' table.

Any advice appreciated.

Hi! Welcome!

If a horse can have only one owner then you place the OwnerID (unique auto-enter serial or UUID) in the Horse Details table. Create a value list of Owners (all values). In left pane, select OwnerID and in right pane select Owner name. Below specify only show second value. Then place the Horses::OwnerID field with POP-UP.

In the graph, connect Owners::OwnerID = Horses::OwnerID

Now when you assign the Owner to a horse, all related information is available and, although it displays the Owner name, it inserts the ID. Just place any owner fields directly onto your Horses layouts. If this is not what you need, just speak up and we can help you further. :-)

Thanks for that LaRetta,

That explains things nicely. Main issue was figuring out how to get the current list of owners to display in a drop-down list on the Horse Details page - all good now.

Now, to extend the relationship question further: