New to FMP - Creating layouts based on checkbox

mdavis6537

This topic is 3868 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello there,

I am brand new to FMP 12 and wow do I have a lot to learn. I am stuck and hoping you can help:

Basically what I have is forms that need filed out for different rooms in a house, but its different for each house. In one house, I might need a form for the Kitchen, Bathroom, and Bedroom. In another house, it might be the living room, office, and kitchen.

So what I have right now is a checkbox with all the different rooms. What I would like to do is, based on clicking on select items in that checkbox, to have a layout page created with each one of the checked boxes seperated out into a different layout page.

So I would have seperate pages for Kitchen, Bathroom, and living room - but they are created depending on what the user checks. This way I dont have a bunch of extra forms sitting there that they may not need for a specific job - if that makes sense.

So far, I have been able to create the check box, and I understand that by checking the boxes it adds them to my "rooms" field which I have created.

what I dont know is how do I:

1. Seperate out the rooms field and only display one room for each layout screen.

2. Populate a new layout screen dependent on how many rooms were checked( if thats even possible?)

Thanks a ton!

You can't create a layout dynamically.  You can, however, create a record, and populate it on a layout.

You haven't told us are the attributes of the rooms similar for the most part, or mostly different?

What if the house has 4 bedrooms or 2 baths? Would they have different attributes?