Copy data between unrelated tables/select from dialog window

CarlS

This topic is 3854 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies
Hello!

I'm a software developer who is used to programming with languages such as C, C++, C#, Perl, PHP, etc. A client asked me to help him with a clients/sales management solution for his company based on FileMaker. I'm experienced with relational databases and had no problems setting up the necessary database for him. Creating simple Layouts to populate tables such as customers, products, invoices which are directly related is not a problem. I do have problems with copying data between unrelated tables though. Say I have the following DB tables (FK stands for foreign key, PK for primary key; table names are surrounded by hash signs: '#').

# Customers #
ID (PK)
Name 
Address

# Invoices #
ID (PK)
CustomerID (FK to CustomersID)
Date
Customer

# InvoiceItems #
ID (PK)
InvoiceID (FK to Invoice.ID)
ProductID (FK to Products.ID)
Name
Price
Packaging
Description

# Products #
ID (PK)
Name
Description

# ProductVariations #
ID (PK)
ProductID (FK to Products.ID)
Price
Packaging

What I would like to do is, have a layout where I can edit an invoice. There I would like to input the invoice information (thus populate the # Invoices # table) as well as input the items of that invoice (add entries into the # InvoiceItems # table). I already achieved these steps with the help of a portal (layout based on # Invoices #, portal based on # InvoiceItems #). The tricky part for me is to be able to copy vales from the # Products #, # ProductVariations # table into the InvoiceItems table respectively. I would like to have a button which would trigger the following behaviour (can either be in every portal row, or outside of it):
* Open a selection window (preferably a dialog) with all products, such that the user can select one of them (Name, Description fields)