exporting QR code encoded data

This topic is 3837 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

This may be related to other topics. If so I apologize, but I haven't found an answer.

I'm a developer working in cross-channel marketing campaigns using variable data. I'm on a Mac (mountain lion) using FMP 12 Advanced.

Variable QR code encoded data is generated for me on windows.net systems by my microsite hosting provider. The encoded data for a QR code consists of a string of characters followed by a vertical tab or line break, follow by another string and a vertical tab or line break and so on. I import the data into FMP to do further data work, export the data to a .mer or xlsx file. A variable data print file is produced using HP's Smart Stream Designer, which expects a tab delimited or csv file, which I create from the .mer or xlsx file. I'm using a QR code font to convert the encoded data to a scannable QR code at the print run stage. It's much faster than exporting and printing a QR code image.

Problem is, the vertical tab or line break in the QR code data isn't preserved correctly in the export file to .mer, .tab, or csv. When I look at the file in BBEdit (or any other editor on my mac) the line break character in the QR code data is an upside-down question mark. Unusable encoded QR code. I can post-process the file in BBEdit to fix this, but it's an extra step, data files are in excess of 40K records with several fields, and post-processing that way seems to me to be potentially error-prone.

Has anyone else run into this or have any suggestions for me?

Thanks in advance.

Bill

Here's an example of an encoded QR code:

AHEEEHAPBNJDNJEOKKFKMPAHEEEHA
BNFFFNBPFGELJDAOFDMGJPBNFFFNB
AONDGAFBHFGPFHAAHGMOMCLKDPBDG
GDMGAKFNHEIEOGEJHPLMAMCBJJMLA

Problem is, the vertical tab or line break in the QR code data isn't preserved correctly in the export file to .mer, .tab, or csv.