Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Batch Invoice all account FM STARTING POINT

This topic is 3704 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi All, 

I'm running youth theatre school and I'm very new to filemaker but making some good progress using FM Starting Point.

An issue I have is I invoice all accounts 3x a year and they all pay the same amount unless on a scholarship so individule invoice of 200 plus contacts is time consuming and almost a little wasteful when they are all paying the same. Dose anyone have any idea of a script where I can populate and print/email invoices for all the accounts on my database and a way of excluding certain members if they are on a scholarship?

Many Thanks for your help in advance.

Eddie.

P.S I'm very keen to learn and understand from all help so if you are able to offer an explanation of any calculations offered that would be really helpful

This is very doable, but will take some fiddling.

First, if new to FM, get and read (if you haven't already) the "Missing Manual for Filemaker 12".  I know its not 13, but ... if that's important to you wait for it to come out.  I would get 12 as a good reference tool and starting point.

Anythewho.

Script Steps:

1) go to layout ****: a layout that displays accounts table info,  

2) enter find mode. unclick pause (bottom left)

3) set field account::f_scholarship (or whatever field you are using to distinguish scholarship accounts from non-scholarship accounts) to its not true status (i.e. find accounts who are NOT on scholarship)

4) perform find

5) go to related invoices for found set.  (requires that in the relationship graph the table associated with the layout you are on is wired up to invoices via account id or some such unique identifier)

6) Print (or Email) found set

Hope this helps,

Marcus

This is very doable, but will take some fiddling.