Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Searching via value lists

This topic is 3680 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Many years ago when I was a teacher, I used a FileMaker Pro database which allowed me to search for students through the use of a field with a drop-down menu with the following value list: “All, A, B, C … X, Y, Z” and a portal which displayed the search results (as shown in the attached file).

When a letter was selected from the drop-down menu, students whose surnames began with that letter were listed alphabetically in the portal. When a surname was clicked in the portal, you went to that student’s record.

When “All” was selected from the drop-down menu, all students were displayed in the portal.

I now work in the fundraising department of a rehab hospital and would like to include the same feature in a database I use, with the portal displaying the surname, firstname and organisation the contact I am looking for works for.

If anyone has examples of this setup, I would appreciate a copy!

Please note that I consider myself a newbie on this type of thing!

Frank

Hi Metasys,

Your reply reads like you had attached a file?

Hi Frank,

In FileMaker, there are usually more than one way to do somethings. Metasys suggested a filter portal, this is probably a new feature since you last developed a file. Your description sounds like it this was done using a series of buttons (ALL A to Z) . see the file on this Link

You can also use a the Spotlight or the typeahead features.

Thank you all for your reply! Much appreciated!