Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Importing Data... Help needed

This topic is 3520 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi Dears

I am a dentist and I am wiring on the clinics database using filemaker pro advanced.

we used to use excel files for that, now i am facing a huge obstacle in importing those data.

the thing is that, I have 2 separate tables, one for patient data, the other for the visit by visit record. Now in the layout that we should be using, we will be adding a new record for each patient and within that i included a portal tool in witch i added the fields from the other table, because we will be adding new records of progress every time the patient comes.

the issue is that when i import the data from the excel file i am unable to add the daily records for each patient separately in side the portal tool. and when i import it in to the progress table it doesn't update the fields in the corresponding patient record!!

I am not sure if i explained it well, but i am sure that you can understand what i am talking about and that you can help me.

looking foreword to hearing from you

regards 

You need to perform two separate imports - one for the patient data while on layout based upon patients and one for the visits while on layout based upon visits (not the visits portal on Patients).  It would help to see your file (you can zip it and attach it).  Basically, both imports will need to hold the unique patient ID or name.  If you need to use patient name for this process, that is fine but once imported, you will want to switch to internal FM patient IDs.  Here are the basic steps:

1. Back up first before any process which manipulates your data.
  2. in your Patient table, add a field called ID, number, which is auto-enter serial, increment by 1 starting at 1.
  3. Import your Patient data into this table, including the patient name.