Server Maintenance This Week. ×

New Search results in previous users data to be changed

This topic is 3231 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi Guys,

I am taking over development of a new filemaker database at my work. It was a project started by a filemaker developer before the company had a downturn

I am a relative rookie in filemaker but have some decent knowledge of SQL and have managed to learn a lot about how filemaker seems to structure its relationships and scripting.

We have an "layout" for a table containing some new electronic items testing data for compliances now the issue that has arisen is that as we use Filemaker hosted on a server and run an RDS that has filemaker pro installed we can have multiple users from a single department (all with there own logins) that use this same testing table and layout

Here is a fun one that has just been discovered if one user is entering data and a second user loads a new item in the search, the first users data is replaced and the screen reloads with the other users item data.

I believe this is being cause by the 2 scripts that have been developed which essentially set a selected flag at the database level and then a search recalls results with that selected flag which is possibly overriding any sessioning that filemaker may do at the server level.

attached are the scripts in question, now the big issue is that these scripts basically work across the complete database for all searched/selected results so it is going to affect every user eventually when all the work is completed and the database goes live to everyone. At the moment it is just being used by a single department (however with no prior testing of all functions..... a big no no......) which started before I joined the company.

I'm basically after some suggestions on a way to manage selections from a portal and it not changing the previously selected result from the other user.

remove prev found set.pdf