Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Layouts spanning multiple pages (20-40)

Matt Hayes

This topic is 3183 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post so please be gentle with me.

I want start by saying that I appreciate your help. It’s amazing to me that people are so willing to take time out of their busy lives and help. I appreciate it a lot.

I’m a Filemaker novice but I’ve been working hard to learn. I’ve been watching the Lynda training series and doing a lot of reading. I’m starting a home inspection business and would like to make my own inspection software. There is good software out there but I love being able to customize it for my needs.

Here is where I start running into problems. An inspection will be one record. The house might have 500 fields that I need to checkoff. Some have comments, some don’t. But in the end I need to print a report totaling 20-50 pages complete with pictures.

I started with a test database to try to understand and ran into problems. The test database is just one small section of the house. When I go to print the report, items span pages and because I have sliding turned on to get rid of white space and not have a 100 page report, items are cut off.

I’ve read and read. I’ve played and tried everything I can think of. I don’t know a solution so I’m humbly asking for your help.

Here is a small test of the file so you can see what I’m talking about. I’ve taken out all of the other layouts so they don’t distract.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0ZBZ9IUrP68ejhWS0ZRZko5LWc/view?usp=sharing

Here is what the printout looks like. Please notice the cutoff pictures:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0ZBZ9IUrP68d3NrenN5UWRIbXc/view?usp=sharing