Hours Tracking

This topic is 3152 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi Guys,
I have been searching for a solution to this for awhile now and would appreciate any insights you can offer up, here goes

I have database to track and invoice my hours as a truck driver, I have two tables set up,
1. Work (Pic 1)
2. Customers (Pic 2)

In the work table i have a calculation field called 'Hours Paid' with this calculation
If (Hours Worked<10; "10.0"; Hours Worked)
straight forward enough so far...

I have recently added a new customer who pays a different min hours to my others so what i need to be able to do is check Hours worked against a field called 'customer::Min Hours' and if less than the 'customer::Min Hours' it will use the number in 'customer::Min Hours' but if more than the 'customer::Min Hours' field it will use the value in field 'Hours worked'.

to make it more interesting the field 'Hours Worked' is a repeating field and when i have tried just linking in the forumla it gives me the correct data in the first repeat but text in the others.....

Any Help would be greatly received

pic 1.PNG

Pic 2.PNG

You need to use the Extend() function when referencing a non-repeating field in a repeating calculation field.

Notes:

1. It would be better to use records in a related table instead of  repeating fields;
  2. You should lookup the MinHours value into a local field, so that the calculation can be stored. Otherwise future changes in customer's minimum hours will also affect your past records.
  • Like 1

Thanks for that and I'm getting closer to a solution it seems, I'm trying the extend option but to not real sucess,

I have amended the calculation thus (Also changed the Min Hours to MinTIme)
If (Hours Worked<customer::MinTime; (Extend (customer::MinTime)); Hours Worked)