Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Struggling to see what I need to buy (FM Pro, Server etc...)

This topic is 2906 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am new to FileMaker and do hope am posting in the right forum.

I have 2 clients that need solutions and was hoping to use FM to create the solutions.

1st client needs a iOS app that will be sold on the App Store, it's not really for the general public but for members of their site but thought the easiest way was stick it on the App Store.
For this client am presuming I need FM Pro Advanced and nothing else?

2nd Client needs a solution that 2 people will access but from any where in the world.
For this client am presuming I need FM Pro Advanced and a server hosted somewhere?

I have searched for the last few days, downloaded demos and read quite a bit and think FM will suit what I want. I know there is a big learning curve but hopefully it will be worth it.

Few other questions -

Can I create a standalone solution with FM Pro and install it on a clients machine to access FM Server?
Are there any recommended hosting companies for FM Server?
Do people buy FM Server or pay a hosting company who supply both hosting and the software?
Any recommended books or is it better using youTube etc..?
Is there any way of monthly subscriptions to get the software (similar to how Adobe charge)?

A little bit about myself -
Currently develop iOS apps using Corona SDK (Lua) and slowly learning Swift, been working in IT since 1989 using Dbase, FoxPro, Access, Visual Basic (in that order as well!).

Any help or tips all welcome.

Dave

Edited by theDaveB
Added a question

Welcom to the forums, Dave.

1. app store instructions