Server Maintenance This Week. ×

ExecuteSQL Novice - condition from a global table

This topic is 2887 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm a complete newbie with SQL, just exploring now. This is probably a stupid simple question but here goes.

I have a table I want to query to extract a virtual value list. I want the WHERE condition to come from a value in a global table. I've tried lots of things but just don't have the knowledge of the syntax in SQL.

cList1 = ExecuteSQL ( "SELECT List FROM ListsCustom JOIN Global ON _pk_1 = _pk_1 WHERE Label = Cust_List " ; "" ; "¶" )

cList2 = ExecuteSQL ( "SELECT List FROM ListsCustom JOIN Global ON _pk_1 = _pk_1 WHERE Label = Cust_List[2] " ; "" ; "¶" )

cList3 = ExecuteSQL ( "SELECT List FROM ListsCustom JOIN Global ON _pk_1 = _pk_1 WHERE Label = Cust_List[3] " ; "" ; "¶" )

So in the above 'Label' is the field in the 'ListsCustom' table that provides the condition for generating the virtual value list and 'Cust_List' is the global repeating field in the 'Global' table that provides the three list labels.

If I put Cust_List in the ListCustom table then this works.

cList1 = ExecuteSQL ( "SELECT List FROM ListsCustom WHERE Label = Cust_List " ; "" ; "¶" )

...but for other reasons I need the Cust_List field in the Global table.

Hope someone can shortcut this for me.

There is no such thing as a global table.

There are global fields. But since they are global; the contain the same value and a where clause would make no sense.

Also, an ExecuteSQL query has a parameterized form:

ExecuteSQL ( "SELECT List FROM ListsCustom WHERE Label = ?" ; "" ; "¶" ; Cust_List[3] )

Edited by BruceR

Thanks Bruce