Easily getting information back from php

This topic is 6273 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm a php developer not a filemaker developer. I have written a UPS Shipping Class in php that needs to return information about the shipment to filemaker. It could possibly need to put information in other tables besides the current one etc.

Whats the best way to go about this? Could I use FM evaluate? Should I send parameters to scripts? We also do alot of work with fx.php so I could theoretically use that but it seems very hackish to go outside filemaker and back in. It might not even work because its possible I could be using that record.

Which ever way you think is the best please include a little sample code if you don't mind. It would be appreciated. Keep in mind i'll be putting information in up to 10 fields in several different tables.

Thanks

Adam

Hello Adam,

There are many ways to return data to FileMaker. Some things to consider include how the information is stored in your PHP code, for example, your class may have methods used for retrieving the various data or you may be returning an array. If you're making a web service call, it might be easiest to return XML.

You also have to decide if you're going to return all the data at once or if you're going to leave it in memory and come back for it. If you want to return all the data at once, you'll need to include a delimiter or use XML or some other method that allows you to parse out the data for each field.