Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Best option for prediction fields

MikeKD

This topic is 3173 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi folks,

I have a database for my school music department.

It includes these tables:

Pupils (things like DoB, name etc - also baseline test results and previous school)

Marks (linked to Assessment and Class tables too)

Instruments

Instrumental Exam Results

What I'd like to do now is:

• Add GCSE, A level and A2 results
  • Use previous baseline tests, Marks and Instrumental Exam Results to generate predictions so I can see which pupils are likely to under and over achieve.

My two questions are:

1. How do I go about thinking of the maths (I'm a musician!!!)
    • The GCSE, AS and A2 exams all have 3 papers, each with different maximum marks. Obviously all could be converted into a %.
    • I'd somehow like the calculation to take into account historical accuracy - i.e, if last years predictions were too high, next years will be lower.
  2. How do I organise the database to add this, I see 4 options:
    • Add GCSE, AS and A2 result fields to the Pupil table.
    • Add a new Academic Exam table.
    • Use the Instrumental Exam table, but add new fields.
    • Use the Marks table.

Many thanks,

Mike

Hi Mike,

First of all you want to add the exams to an EXAM table. It only needs the basic fields (ID, creation, modification dates/accounts) and the date of the exam, the paper required and the maximum mark (which can be scripted or calculated from the proper year's results). Add the exams for this year. Add their papers and maximum marks. So if you have 3 exams and 3 papers you'll end up with 9 records. Alternatively you can create a sub-table for the papers, but if you only have a few, it's not really worth the effort.

Then create another table called PUPIL_EXAM, which will be a join table between the pupils and the exams they take.